International Workshop on “Integrating Clinical Pharmacy Education, Practice
& Research: Bridging the Gap” (February 22-24, 2016).

Venue: COMSTECH Building, 33 Constitution Avenue, G-5/2, Islamabad, Pakistan.
Back

Sr. No

Subject Expert/ Resource Person

Country

Contact Info

Title of Talk

Foreign Speakers

1.

Prof. Dr. Syed Azhar Syed Sulaiman

Malaysia

sazhar@usm.my

(Clinical Pharmacy in Asia: Problems & Obstacles),  (Proper Approach for Clinical Case-Study & Case Clerking),  (Pharmacy Curriculum)

2.

Dr. Kutay Demirkan

Turkey

kutay@hacettepe.edu.tr

Clinical Pharmacy Education and Practice at Hacettepe University, Turkey

3.

Prof.Dr. Ilkay Erdogan Orhan

Turkey

iorhan@gazi.edu.tr

Phytopharmacy Concept in Clinical Pharmacy Training

4.

Dr. Azreen Syazril Adnan

Malaysia

drazreenadnan@gmail.com

Management of Intra-Dialytic Complications

5.

Dr. Amer Hayat Khan

Malaysia

dramer@usm.my

(Clinical Pharmacist: Way & Directions-Problem based learning), (Clinical Pharmacist as a Researcher)

 

 

 

 

 

Local Speakers

1.

Prof. Dr. G.M. Khan

Pakistan

gmkhan@qau.edu.pk

Focal Person of the Workshop

2.

Dr. Muhammad Tahir Aziz

Pakistan

tahir@skm.org.pk

 

(Total Parenteral Nutrition - Assessment, Calculation and Monitoring), (Disease State Management - ESRD)

Application of Nuclear Radiation in Agriculture, Medicine, Non-Destructive Testing and Nuclear Regulatory Practices April 18-23, 2016 in Islamabad, Pakistan

Organized by The OIC Standing Committee on Scientific & Technological Cooperation (COMSTECH), Atomic Energy Commission (PAEC), Pakistan Nuclear Regulatory Authority (PNRA), and International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
Back

Sr. No

Subject Expert/ Resource Person

Country

Email Address

Title of Talk

 

FOREIGN SPEAKERS

1.

Mr. Rodolfo Nunez

(IAEA Expert)

Austria

R.Nunez-MIller@iaea.org

  • Nuclear Medicine and Diagnostic Programmes at the IAEA
  • PET/CT in Oncology
  • Therapeutic Aspects of Nuclear Medicine
2.

Mr. Abdulghani Shakhashiro

(IAEA Expert)

Austria

a.shakhashiro@iaea.org

  • IAEA Platform for Scientists Engineers & Researchers
  • Proficiency Testing Plan and DO’s and Dont’s of Proficiency Testing
3.

H. Varjonen

(IAEA Expert)

Austria

NA

  • IAEA Activities on Maintenance and Outage Optimization
  • IAEA Activities on NDE/ISI. Optimization in NPPs to Improve NPPS Performance
4.

Koskinen

Finland

NA

  • Qualification, Validation and Inspection in Pressure Vessel
  • Pre and Post PSI/ISI activities (International Practices)
  • Surveillance Program for the Integrity of RPV
  • Emerging Technologies and Advance Use of Current Methods
5.

M. Pajnic

Croatia

NA

  • Code and Standards for NDT Qualification and Inspection in Pressure Vessel
  • Data acquisition and analysis of Eddy Current Testing of SG tubes, Thimble tubes and RPV Studs and Nuts
  • Data acquisition and analysis of Eddy Current Testing of SG tubes, Thimble tubes and RPV Studs and Nuts
  • Inspection of the Buried Pipelines using NDT
  • Mechanized Inspection Systems (Data Acquisition and Analysis) of RPV, Vessel Head, RCCA and RPV Studs and Nuts
  • Mechanized Inspection Systems (Data Acquisition and Analysis) of RPV, Vessel Head, RCCA and RPV Studs and Nuts

 

SPEAKERS FROM PAKISTAN

Sr. No

Subject Expert/ Resource Person

Email Address

Title of Talk

  1.  

Mr. Aslam Umer

NA

Manufacturing/Designing parts of Nuclear Power Plants in Pakistan

  1.  

Mr. Zaheer Ahmed

NA

Introduction to NCNDT

  1.  

Shams Shahid Ayub

NA

Power Plant Controls and Simulations

  1.  

Dr. Safdar Ali

NA

Introduction to Nuclear Waste Management

  1.  

Dr. Muhammad Basim

NA

 Introduction to Ionizing Radiations & Fundamentals of Radiological Protection

  1.  

Dr. Muhammed Faheem

NA

Role of PAEC in Health Sector

  1.  

Dr. Shabana Saeed

shabana@pieas.edu.pk

Contribution of PIEAS in Human Resource Development for Nuclear Medicine & Radiation Oncology

  1.  

Dr. Muhammad Sohaib

NA

Uses of Radiation Sources in Medicine

  1.  

Dr. Basit Iqbal

NA

Nuclear Medicine Imaging – Current Practices & the Future Trends

  1.  

Dr. Nayyer Iqbal

NA

Agriculture and Biotechnology Institute of PAEC and their contributions in the Agriculture Sector

  1.  

Dr. Tariq Mehmood Shah

NA

Development and impact of mutant varieties on agriculture production in Pakistan

  1.  

Dr. Muhammad Arif

marif_nibge@yahoo.com

Plant breeding in post genomic era

  1.  

Dr. Shahid Mansoor

shahidmansoor7@gmail.com

Biotechnology; perspective and utilizations for socioeconomic development

  1.  

Dr. Qaiser Mahmood Khan

NA

Animal reproduction and health; nuclear and biotechnological approaches

  1.  

Dr. Nazia Suleman

Na

Integrated pest management and its practical applications

  1.  

Dr. Ihsan ullah

NA

Sanitary and phyto-sanitary treatment of food and agriculture products through irradiation technology

  1.  

Dr. Khalid Mahmood

NA

Managing saline soils and brackish water for enhancing productivity and improvement of degraded environment

  1.  

Dr. Muhammad Sadiq

dr.sadiq@pnra.org

  • Introduction to PNRA
  • Capacity building in Nuclear/Radiation safety & security
  1.  

Mr.Mohammad Usman

musman@pnra.org

  • PNRA Regulatory Framework
  • Authorization and Licensing of Radiation Facilities
  1.  

Mr. Nasir Mughal

nasir.mughal@pnra.org

Authorization and Licensing of Nuclear Installations

  1.  

Mr. Naveed Maqbul

nmaqbul@pnra.org

Review & Assessment

  1.  

Mr. Shahbaz A. Nasir Bhatti

shahbaz.ali@pnra.org

Regulatory Inspections of Nuclear Installations

  1.  

Dr. Tariq Majeed

NA

Factors affecting the Image Quality in Nuclear Medicine

  1.  

Dr. Brg. (R) Muhammad Ilyas

NA

Use of Radiation in Diagnostic Radiology

  1.  

Dr. Hasan Nisar

NA

Role of Radiation in Treatment Cancer

  1.  

Mr. Asad Ejaz

asad.ejaz@pnra.org

Regulatory Inspections of  Radiation Facilities

  1.  

Mr. Abdul Shakoor

abdul.shakoor@pnra.org

PNRA Enforcement Process

  1.  

Mr. Zia Hussain Shah

zia.shah@pnra.org

Interface and Cooperation with National & International Organizations

  1.  

Mr. Salman Ahmad

salman.ahmad@pnra.org

Coordination in handling Radiological Emergencies

  1.  

Dr. Mohammad Shahid

m.shahid@pnra.org

Auxiliary Function of PNRA

  1.  

Dr. Shahida Waheed

 

NA

Role of Nuclear Analytical Techniques in monitoring, Fingerprinting and Source Apportionment of Air Pollution in Pakistan

  1.  

Mr. Zahid Latif

 

NA

Application of Isotope Techniques in Hydrology, Industry, Environment and Life Sciences

  1.  

Mr. Ghiyas Ud Din

NA

Radioisotope Technology for the Benefit of Industry

  1.  

Dr. Mushtaq Ahmed/Dr. Muhammad Saleem

mahmed5555@yahoo.com

Role of laser as a diagnostic and treatment tool in Medical & Agriculture

  1.  

 

Dr. Abida Raza

NA

Nanotheranostics: Combining the therapeutic and detection modalities

International Workshop on Genomics and Genome Editing
May 24-27, 2016 in Lahore, Pakistan

Organized by The OIC Standing Committee on Scientific & Technological Cooperation (COMSTECH), Islamabad and Forman Christian College (A Chartered University), Lahore
Back

Sr. No

Subject Expert/ Resource Person

Country

Email Address

Title of Talk

 

FOREIGN SPEAKERS

1.

Dr. Michael Jones (Murdoch University)

Australia

M.Jones@murdoch.edu.au

  • 50 shades of GMO’s
  • Next Generation Sequencing – Applications to plant virology and biosecurity
  • The application of genome editing to improve the dietary quality of potatoes – strategies and improving acceptance
  • New approaches to crop pathogen resistance
2.

Dr. Tariq Zaman (University of West Ontario)

Canada

tzaman3@uwo.ca

  • Ca2.3 Gene Targeting and Brain Function
  • Neuron-specific LMO4 Gene Targeting and Chemogenetic Modulation to Develop Therapeutics
3.

Dr. Shahla Mohammad Gangi (National Institute of Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology)

Iran

shahlamg@yahoo.com

  • Investigation of promoter methylation of a  panel gene in Iranian patients with CRC and esophagous cancer

 

SPEAKERS FROM PAKISTAN

Sr. No

Subject Expert/ Resource Person

Email Address

Title of Talk

4,

Dr. Kauser A. Malik (FCC University, Lahore)

kausermalik@fccollege.edu.pk

  • Introduction to the Workshop
5.

Dr. Kamran Azim (ICCBS, Pakistan)

kamran.azim@iccs.edu

  • Next Generation DNA Sequencing-Technologies
6.

Dr. Bilal Wajid

(UET, Lahore)

NA

  • Next Generation Sequencing-Softwares
  • Genome Assembly on Genobunto
  • Genome Wide Association Studies
7.

Dr. Aftab Bashir

(FCC University, Lahore)

aftabbashir@fccollege.edu.pk

  • SRA tool kit installation and raw data handling
  • Variant calling (SNP detection) using CLC bio Genomics
8.

Dr. Fiaz Ahmad

(BZU, Multan)

fahmad@bzu.edu.pk

 

  • Methylated DNA primer designing and analysis of targeted gene methylation
9.

Dr. Umar Sohail

(GCU, Faisalabad)

umar.sohail@gcuf.edu.pk

 

  • Use of Qiime for studying Microbiome
  • Use of next generation sequencing for gut microbia
10.

Dr. Kamran Azim (ICCBS, Karachi)

kamran.azim@iccs.edu

 

  • RNA sequencing using trinity
11.

Dr. Shahid Mansoor (NIBGE, Faisalabad)

shahidmansoor7@gmail.com

  • CRISPR/Cas exploitation for crop improvement
12.

Dr. M. Saeed

(NIBGE, Faisalabad)

NA

  • CRISP/Cas 9 and plant virus resistance
13.

Dr. Imran Amin

(NIBGE, Faisalabad)

NA

  • CRISP/Cas 9 and VIGS for functional genomics

 

14.

Dr. M. Saeed & Dr. Imran Amin (NIBGE)

NA

  • Transient assay for delivery of CRISPR/Cas in Plants

International Workshop on “Nanosciences: Education and Industrial Applications”
13-15 December, 2016

Organized by The OIC Standing Committee on Scientific & Technological Cooperation (COMSTECH), Islamabad.
Back

Sr. No

Subject Expert/ Resource Person

Country

Email Address

Title of Talk

FOREIGN SPEAKERS

1.

Prof. Salim H. Al Harthi (Sultan Qaboos University, Muscat)

Oman

salim1@squ.edu.om

  • Introduction to Nanoscience & Nanotechnology at School/College level.
2.

Prof. Dr. Ali Bbeitollahi (Iran University of Science and Technology)

Iran

beitolla@just.ac.ir

  • Iran’s Strategic Plan Towards Establishing a Nanotechnology Enabled Economy
3.

Prof. Dr. Saeed Sarkar (Iran Nanotechnology Initiative Council (INIC)

Iran

sarkar@tums.ac.ir

  • Nanotechnology Education in Iran
  • The Status of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology: Challenges and the Way Forward for OIC countries
4.

Prof. Dr. Feng Qibo (Beijing Jiaotong University, Beijing)

China

qbfeng@bjtu.edu.cn

  • The Nanotechnology and Nanoscience Education and It’s Contemporary Need
5.

Dr. Ding Kejian (Beijing Jiaotong University, Beijing)

China

dkjian@btu.edu.cn

  • Graphene based composites & its potential application
6.

Dr. Abdullah Ceylan (Hacettepe University, Ankara)

Turkey

aceylanabd@yahoo.com

  • Synthesis & Characterization of Ge Nanoparticles Embedded ZnO thin Films
7. Dr. Mohammad Ashraf Gondal (King Fahd University of Petroleum & Minerals, Dharan)

Saudi Arabia

mogondal@kfupm.edu.sa

  • Industrial Application of Nanomaterial: For Oil Production, Solar Energy Harvesting, Conversion of CO2 into Value Added Fuels & Water purification.
8.

Dr. Abbas Behjat (Yazd University)

Iran

abehjat@yazd.ac.ir

  • Study of Nanoparticles Plasmonic Effects in New generation Solar Cells Structure
9. Prof. I.A. Ibrahim ( Central Metallurgical R&D Institute, Cairo)

Egypt

ibrahimahmed@cmrdi.sci.eg

  • Overview of Nanosciences Research in Egypt.

SPEAKERS FROM PAKISTAN

Sr. No

Subject Expert/ Resource Person

Email Address

Title of Talk

10.

Dr. N. M. Butt (Preston University, Islamabad)

nmbutt36@yahoo.com

  • Nanotechnology and Nanoscience Education at Graduation Level.
11

Prof. Dr. S. Khurshid Hasanain, COMSTECH, Islamabad)

se_hasanain@comstech.org

  • Overview of Nanosciences Research in Pakistan.
12.

Dr. Shahzad Alam, (PCSIR, Islamabad)

chairmanpcsir@gmail.com

  • Frontiers of Nanocomposite coatings and their Industrial Applications
13.

Prof. Dr. Tanveer Hussain (National Textile University, Faisalabad)

hussain.tanveer@gmail.com

  • Nanotechnology Applications in Textiles
14.

Prof. Dr. Irshad Hussain(Lums, Lahore)

ihussain@lums.edu.pk

  • Large Scale Production of Metal/Metal Oxide nanoparticles for Applications in Biomedical Sciences, Catalysis & Renewable Energy Technologies
15.

Dr. Muhammad Akhyar Farrukh (G C University, Lahore)

akhyar100@gmail.com

  • Synthesis and Application of Nanotechnology in Fertilizer, Chemical & Pharmaceutical Industries.
16.

Dr. Muhammad Bilal Khan (NUST, Islamabad)

bilal@casen.nust.edu.pk

  • Nanotechnology Education and the Role of Academia-Industry Liaison
17.

Dr. Kekhshan Mazhar (IBGE, Islamabad)

kekhshan_mbhatti@yahoo.com

  • Applications in Nanomedicine
18.

Dr. Muhammad Rafi (NILOP, Islamabad)

Muhammad_raffi@hotmail.com

  • Electrospinning: A fascinating way to fabricate Nanofibers for Advanced Engineering Applications.
19.

Dr. Umbreen Shaheen (University of Baluchistan, Quetta)

Umber_nibge@yahoo.com

  • Harnessing Nanomaterials for Biological Applications, there is plenty to do at the bottom.
20.

Dr. Abida Raza (NILOP, Islamabad)

Abida_rao@yahoo.com

  • Nanoscience & Nanotechnology: Role in Health Sciences
 
21. Mr. Inayat A. Khan (Quaid e Azam University, Islamabad)

NA

  • Fabrication of highly stable and efficient PtCu Alloy Nanoparticles on highly porous carbon for direct methanol fuel cells.

COMSTECH-Technology Times International Workshop on “Science Communication: Enhancing Public Understanding"
January 10-11, 2017

Organized by The OIC Standing Committee on Scientific & Technological Cooperation (COMSTECH), Islamabad.
Back

S. No

Name

Country / City

Email

Title of Talk

1

Mr. Fabio Turone

USA

fabioturone.laptop@gmail.com

Science Communication: Issues & Risks in the Digital Age

2

Dr. Ehsan Masood

UK

ehsan.masood@researchresearch.com

Communicating Science to Policymakers and Science Diplomacy

3

Ms. Knvul Safia Sheikh

USA

knvul.safia@gmail.com

Media Reporting on Life Sciences

4

Dr. Muhammad Ashraf

Islamabad

muhammad_ashraf63@yahoo.com

Science & Society: Communicating Science to Public

5

Mr. Aleem Ahmed

Karachi

aleem.ahmed@gmail.com

Science & Society: Communicating Science to Public

6

Dr. Hamid Saleem

Islamabad

saleemhpk@hotmail.com

Popularization of Science in Local Language

7

Dr. Shafqat Kakakhel

Islamabad

kashmalakakakhel@gmail.com

Communicating Global Challenges: Climate Change, Water, Food & Energy

8

Dr. Ghulam Rasul

Islamabad

pmd@pmd.gov.pk

Communicating Global Challenges: Climate Change, Water, Food & Energy

9

Ms. Rina Saeed Khan

Islamabad

rinasaeed@gmail.com

Communicating Global Challenges: Climate Change, Water, Food & Energy

10

Dr. Imran Hashmi

Islamabad

imranhashmi@iese.nust.edu.pk

Communicating Global Challenges: Climate Change, Water, Food & Energy

11

Dr. Anwar ul Hassan Gillani

Islamabad

anwar.gilani@aku.edu

Communicating Science to Policymakers and Science Diplomacy

12

Mr. Khalid Rehman

Karachi

khalidr@gmail.com

Communicating Science to Policymakers and Science Diplomacy

13

Mr. Kamran Akhter

Islamabad

mohammad.kamran.akhtar@gmail.com

Communicating Science to Policymakers and Science Diplomacy

14

Mr. Zeeshan Ahmad Siddiqui

Islamabad

zeeshan.ahmad@ncp.edu.pk

Media Reporting on Life Sciences

15

Dr. Zabta Khan Shinwari

Islamabad

shinwari2008@gmail.com

Science Communication and Academia

16

Dr. M. Zafar Iqbal

Islamabad

drzafar.iqbal@iiu.edu.pk

Science Communication and Academia

17

Dr. M. Sabieh Anwar

Lahore

sabieh@lums.edu.pk

Science Communication and Academia

18

Dr. Pervez Hoodbhoy

Lahore

hoodbhoy@mit.edu

Science & Society: Communicating Science to Public

19

Abdullah Farooqi

Islamabad

Media Reporting on Life Sciences

20

Dr. Shaukat Hameed Khan

Islamabad

shkhan_cg@comstech.org

Science Communication: Issues & Risks in the Digital Age

21

Mr. Saleem Rafik

Islamabad

 

Science Communication: Issues & Risks in the Digital Age

COMSTECH-CIIT Joint International Workshop on “Rational Design of Materials for Energy Needs: Computation & Experimentation"
May 22-26, 2017

Back

S. No

Name

Country / City

Email

Title of Talk

1

Prof. Khurshid Hasanain

&

Prof. Talat Rahman

Pakistan &

USA

se_hasanain@comstech.org &

talat@ucf.edu

Introduction to the workshop themes

2

Prof. Talat  Rahman

USA

einstein@umd.edu

Rational design of functional nanomaterials: theory and experiment working in tandem

3

Prof. Laurene Tetard

USA

Laurene.Tetard@ucf.edu 

  • Characterization of nanoscale system (overview) and applications to 2D materials and catalysis
  • Nanoscale infrared spectroscopy and applications to 2D materials & catalysis
4

Prof. Peter Dowben

USA

pdowben@unl.edu

  • Tutorial on The Fundamentals of electron spectroscopies: Photoemission, Inverse Photoemission and X-ray absorption
  • Tutorial on Symmetry and Band Structure: the Experimental Situation versus Theory
  • Electrically controlled surface magnetism and energy savings in solid state electronics
5

Prof. Marisol A. Ortigoza

USA

Marisol.AlcantaraOrtigoza@ucf.edu

  • Rational Design Methodology Applied to the Oxygen-Reduction Reaction in Hydrogen Fuel Cells: Insights from Density Functional Theory
  • Pathway for the rational design of materials: Application from obtaining more official ORR – Examples of promising materials
6

Prof. Ted Einstein

USA

einstein@umd.edu

  • Multiscale View of Crystal Structure and Growth: From Lattice Gas Models to Continuum Shapes
  • Patterns on Surfaces and Distributions of Size-Related Properties: Applications from Nanoscale to Societal Scales
7

Dr. Altaf Karim

Pakistan

altafkarim2010@gmail.com

Multiscale Modeling Framework for Computational Discovery of Catalysts for Energy Needs

8

Mr. Tao Jiang

USA

tao.jiang.2013@knights.ucf.edu

Towards Understanding CO2 Hydrogenation on Defect-Laden Hexagonal Boron Nitride

9

Dr. Akhtar Hussain Mohal

Pakistan

ahmohal@yahoo.com

Effect of foreign element doped, concentration and substitution site on the band-gap tuning of graphene: Density functional theory studies 

10

Dr. Muhammad Sultan

Pakistan

sultan@ncp.edu.pk

Hybrid nanostructures for solar cell application

11

Dr. Naveed Zafar Ali

Pakistan

naveednik@gmail.com

Interplay between structure & Magnetism in novel multinary oxides

12

Mr. Naseem Uddin

USA

naseem.din@Knights.ucf.edu

Predictive Modeling of Metal-Organic Chain with Active Metal Site

13

Dr. Bin Amin

Pakistan

binukhn@hu.edu.pk

Two Dimensional Transition Metal Dichalcogenides and their Heterostructures

14

Dr. Gul Rahman

Pakistan

gulrahman@qau.edu.pk

Development of spontaneous magnetism and half-metallicity in monolayer MoS2

15

Dr. Sadia Manzoor

Pakistan

Sadia_manzoor@comsats.edu.pk 

Giant Magnetoelectric effect in strain controlled nanocomposites

16

Dr. Fakhar ul Inam

Pakistan

fakhar.inam@comsats.edu.pk

Modelling the Structural Disorder: Basic Techniques

17

Ms. Ambreen Uzair

Pakistan

ambreen.uzair@ncp.edu.pk

Conductance of fully equilibrated graphene sheet at finite gate voltage

 

COMSTECH General Assembly Meeting


COMSTECH Secretariat, 33-Constitution Avenue, G-5/2, Islamabad Phone: (+92 51) 9220681 - Fax: (+92 51) 9211115 - COMSTECH Official Email